Canadian Immigration open to 24 categories of skilled professionals

Canada has unveiled 24 occupations under which skilled people can apply for immigration from May 4.

This category of immigration is called the  Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP).  Applications will take about a year to process.
The 24 occupations which are eligible to apply under the FSWP are:

  • Engineering managers
  • Financial and investment analysts
  • Geoscientists and oceanographers
  • Civil engineers
  • Mechanical engineers
  • Chemical engineers
  • Mining engineers
  • Geological engineers
  • Petroleum engineers
  • Aerospace engineers
  • Computer engineers (except software engineers/designers)
  • Land surveyors
  • Computer programmers and interactive media developers
  • Industrial instrument technicians and mechanics
  • Inspectors in public and environmental health and occupational health and safety
  • Audiologists and speech-language pathologists
  • Physiotherapists
  • Occupational Therapists
  • Medical laboratory technologists
  • Medical laboratory technicians and pathologists’ assistants
  • Respiratory therapists, clinical perfusionists and cardiopulmonary technologists
  • Medical radiation technologists
  • Medical sonographers
  • Cardiology technicians and electrophysiological diagnostic technologists, n.e.c. (not elsewhere classified)

In a statement, Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) said that there will be an overall cap of 5,000 new applications for all eligible occupations, including a sub-cap of 300 new applications for each eligible occupation.

Applicants must show proof of the minimum threshold of Canadian Language Benchmark 7 in all four language skill areas: speaking, reading, writing and oral comprehension.
To prove language proficiency, a prospective applicant must take a third-party language test  from an organization designated by the Immigration Minister and submit their test report along with their application to CIC. The designated language testing organizations are:

Four organizations have been designated to assess foreign educational credentials for applicants who studied outside of Canada. These assessments, which must be completed before an application is submitted, are aimed at helping newcomers through the FSWP to get off to a better start and into the Canadian labour force more quickly when they arrive. The four designated organizations for assessing foreign credentials are:

Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism Minister Jason Kenney said, “Under the new Federal Skilled Worker Program, Canada will be able to attract the skilled immigrants our economy requires, who are the most likely to succeed and contribute their full skill set to the Canadian economy.

“As a result of the actions taken by the Government to deal with the massive backlogs and unacceptably long wait times, FSW applications will be processed in approximately one year.’’

Leave a Comment